Dolce far niente

Art is quite frankly what you make it to be. It is an expression of your inner most feelings and perspective of life. I love going to exhibitions not only to immerse myself in the art and the beauty of someone else’s visual presentation but to also ogle into someone else’s head for a change other than my own. Artists are wondrous and oftentimes loners, which means they live in their heads most of the time. Normally artists do not attend their own exhibitions and that always irks me since I generally have questions for the face behind the artwork. Heads up for next time you go to an exhibition: DO NOT say that the work is nice, that is so cliché, use another adjective or rather describe what you think the artist is trying to say through the work of art and do not be too shy to say that you do not like some of the art pieces. I had the opportunity of meeting Madame Katrin Dorje, better known as Kitty, at the Cape Gallery.  Rarely do I encounter people that I can connect with I mean genuinely connect with; not just conversation wise but intellectually as well. I connected with Kitty that evening. And she is funny as well which is a bonus. Funny people are the best; conversations with them are never dry. We talked about the rivalry between cats and dogs, how weird it is that some men love their dogs more than their partners and dissected some aspects of her work. I later interviewed her and found out her views on art and her source of inspiration in her solo exhibition Recite. “The exhibition deals with two places of sanctuary one inside the light – sea point promenard and one outside the life, St George’s cathedral, in that the light comes through the windows” in the art pieces. The collection of the artworks for Recite was made over a one year period. And in that time frame Kitty was learning how to swim, appreciating nature and just simply enjoying how the water felt on her skin whilst she steered her body through the currents as she headed for the lighthouse.

“As I grew older, I realized that it was much better to insist on the genuine forms of nature, for simplicity is the greatest adornment of art.” Albrecht Durer


 

 Reach 02 by Kitty Dorje. Oil on canvas,  80 x 80 cm
Reach 02 by Kitty Dorje. Oil on canvas, 80 x 80 cm

What do you think art is?

Art is the ability to express yourself through a medium to others.

 And what does art mean to you as an artist?

It is the ability to share what is happening in my daily life with the hope of processing and creating some kind of resolution, progression.

 Is the sea point promenard your favorite go to place?

Yes it is the place I go to clear my head and walk. I jog and swim there as well. I always meet interesting people there.

Looking into the sun by Kitty Dorje. Oil on canvas,  80 x 102 cm
Looking into the sun by Kitty Dorje. Oil on canvas, 80 x 102 cm

Is Albrecht Durer artist of all time?

In this exhibition I was influenced by the romantic artists such as Botticelli and his artwork birth of Venus.

Can you tell me a quote, by an artist, that you love.

“We are used to cleaning the outside house, but the most important house to clean is yourself – your own house – which we never do.”

–          Marina Abramovic

You can purchase Kitty Dorje’s artworks at the Cape Gallery.

http://www.capegallery.co.za/Kitty_dorje1.html

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

