What’s in a shoe?

VIDEO:


In Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, Juliet asks the question “what’s in a name?” And in this instance I would like to pose the question “what’s in a shoe?” Because I have realised over the years that tar and a little dirt never hurt nobody.Okay now I am really starting to sound like I am advocating unhygienic practices.I would like to clarify something before you read any further though. That I am not a hippie nor am I affiliated with the hipster society.

Who invented the first pair of shoes? I don’t know. Do you know? Nobody really knows. Google doesn’t even known he answer to that question. Shoes have found their way into our culture, fashion and different art forms (i.e. dance). The shoe has evolved so much over the years that I am unable to keep track of the latest editions or trends that are on the market nowadays. Shoes are normally worn for fashion and social reasons. Converse “All Star” sneakers have become particularly popular with the young demographic over the years. The first Chuck Taylor All-Star sneaker was produced in 1917 and look at where the brand is today.n Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, Juliet asks the question “what’s in a name?” And in this instance I would like to pose the question “what’s in a shoe?” Because I have realised over the years that tar and a little dirt never hurt nobody. Okay now I am really starting to sound like I am advocating unhygienic practices. I would like to clarify something before you read any further though. That I am not a hippie nor am I affiliated with the hipster society.

Jess C. Scott said, “The human body is the best work of art” or rather in this case the human foot. “Mama always said you could tell an awful lot about a person by the kind of shoes they wear” (Forrest Gump). Does the type of shoe or colour say anything about a person’s personality? Hmm would you date a guy/girl who wore red shoes or black shoes? There is an art to a shoe. Shoes are part of fashion and fashion is ART. If you were to ask me what’s under my bed, I’d tell you shoes. Some of them haven’t been washed in over two years. How many times have you told yourself that you need a new pair of shoes even though you already own a couple of brand new ones you have not even worn yet?

Anti-evolutionist will probably want to hunt me down and throw stones at me after they read this, but look at it this way. Lucy, the monkey who may or may not look like your third aunt from the left did not need shoes to fulfil her daily life. I know what you are thinking that you are not a monkey nor are you part of a troop of monkeys. But I don’t know that. What I am trying to say is that until you go 30 days without wearing shoes you have no argument to lean on. Nor can you cannot knock the idea that shoes are a want. I was born in 1993 at the Polokwane Provincial Hospital and I don’t know about you but I was not born with shoes on my feet.

Everything about not wearing shoes screams weird, poor, hipster and gives off the vibe that the person just doesn’t care. You can bet on one thing though Hipsters save more money than you.  I mean they go thrift shopping with Macklemore. They wear vintage-, borrowed clothing and no shoes at all on most days. Walking, running or even dancing around barefoot is natural. I think people are scared to acknowledge that buying shoes is more of a want than a need. Ignoring this fact is a way to condone their shopping habits and addiction with custom made- and designer footwear. Some of this lampoon that we tend to dish out to hippies is a bit ridiculous and unfair. I know we cannot help but tease and make fun of them but who said it is a must to wear shoes anyway. We ought to at least appreciate the beard trend which was started by the hippy subculture and acknowledge some of the style and artsy quirky fashion that has stemmed from the hipster community. They have contributed something to society, as different and often misconstrued as it may be. No one can deny how good Zach Galifianakis (a.k.a. Alan Garner) looks with his beard.

We tend to judge people based on their appearance and what they put on. You would probably not hire someone who came to an interview with no shoes on, right?! Professional wear in the office is such a big deal. But what does the clothing I wear, the shoes I wear or the lacks thereof have to do with my ability to do my job. Some say that the shoe makes the outfit. But I disagree. I think bare feet go along with any colour and any outfit for any particular occasion. Shoes are functional but the upside of not wearing shoes is that you don’t have to worry about trying to find a clean pair of socks on in the morning. In most cultures walking around barefoot is considered to be inappropriate and unacceptable. Some businesses have “No Shoes, No Shirt, No Service” signs out and refuse to give service to individuals who do not have footwear on or who they deem to have dressed inappropriately.

Some people wear shoes for the appearance and others for the comfort.  Nevertheless people generally wear shoes because they were told by their parents or guardians that they ought to wear shoes. The notion of putting shoes on in the morning is a social construction of reality that we have learned from our families, friends and communities we live in and have adopted from the internet, schools and television sets. We grow up assuming that it is normal to wear shoes. And to think that you have been going through life thinking that you had to wear shoes.Shoes are supposed to protect the feet from cuts and bruises, germs and the risk of foot fungi right? And yet have you noticed how bad your platform shoes smell if you wear them all day long without taking them off. Haven’t you ever heard your mum say don’t wear the same shoe two days in a row. That is because a shoe is warm and serves as an incubator for microbial growth.

So I present to you (Hashtag) Barefoot Thursdays where all around the world we choose to not wear shoes on Thursdays, whether it rains or shines, snows or hails. I challenge you to step out your house and go to work, varsity or the cinema barefoot. Unless you are a chicken … CLUCK… CLUCK; bound into silence and conformity by society and its many ideologies. Let’s create a shoeless movement. The “people are going to give me weird looks” excuse doesn’t cut it anymore. People give you weird looks everywhere you go; you just never notice. Samuel Sugarman (better known as Barefoot Sam), a Russian immigrant became famous for going barefoot all for an entire year, even throughout the winter season and snow. And guess how old he was when he died—80 years old. I dare you to show up to work with no shoes on and a grin on your face. If Barefoot Sam could do stick it out for a year then you can do it once a week, okay maybe once a month. I mean what’s the worst that could happen?

DSCN0182DSCN0028

 

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

