Dinner at Jewel of India

 

This is such a long overdue post but anywho…

A couple of weeks ago I was invited by ZomatoSA to try some of the best Indian food Cape Town has to offer a while back. However I didn’t realize what I was in for!

Jewel of India is a great little restaurant  on Somerset Road in Green point, right next to the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel. They serve up some of the best curries I’ve ever had. We were invited to a foodie meet up where we sampled some of the most spectacular dishes. To say that we ate to our hearts content would be an understatement.
Mains: an assortment of curries, baby potatoes blended with exotic Indian spices and naan

Second mains: Seafood platter
Dessert: Gulab Jamun (small waffle shaped balls deep fried & dipped in sugar syrup) and Kulfi Faluda (sweet milk, rose syrup, vermicelli, sago & fresh cream)

The food was excellent – spicy, comforting and oh so yummy – and in all honestly the pictures don’t do them much justice. The intention of the restaurant is that you order a few dishes for the table and you share them. I mean what’s  not to love about having a good ol’ Indian feast with some friends.  The highlights for me were the potatoes  (R55) and the Naan bread (R14). I’d like to try a few things on my next visit; the Chicken Dum Biryani (R105) and the Lamb Chop Masala (R110). The one thing you definitely ought to try is the naan – absolutely delicious.

We ate far too much but we didn’t mind at all. The menu is filled with traditional Indian food and you should make it a point to try everything on it! We were rapidly running out of space in our tummies by  the time the second main arrived, which was the seafood platter. It was superb I tell you. My stomach is growling just thinking about it. The various dishes we had the pleasure of tasting were aromatic, full of flavor and visually appealing to say the least.

When I said we were full, that’s obviously apart from the space we managed to  save for dessert. I was impressed how it tasted, especially the sago like pudding. We were brave and tried something we’d never had before and it was excellent.

All the Indian dishes were amazing even the Lamb curry (I am not the biggest fan of lamb but this was amazing).

The only downside is that I didn’t get to taste the prawns but I had an amazing evening that I will never  forget! And I will definitely be back for more ;).

 

 

 

 

 

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

