March 2016!

Hello everyone! I’ve been on sabbatical for the past couple of months and I later went on a much needed holiday. I took some time out to lazy around, read that autobiography I had put off for so long and to pretty much eat everything I could find in my mom’s pantry…

Taking a break over the summer gave me the clarity I needed to set a few things in motion for 2016. I’ve realized that it’s often hard for me to take a step back from everything that I’m doing. I get so engrossed in a lot of things that I usually don’t even get the chance to enjoy the moment. Sometimes you need a bit of a break from life. You just need to check out- and check into a hotel or simply go way for the weekend. Trust me it’s a worthwhile experience. Life is filled with a number of challenges and uncertainties but it’s often best to deal with them with a clear mind.

On the upside, 2015 was a darn good year and being away just reminded of how much I love what I do. I’m quite excited for the year ahead. There a lot of exciting things in the pipelines, that I can’t wait to share with you all… but for now I will just leave you with a virgin cocktail recipe that I made over the weekend! It’s quite refreshing and I suggest that you try it out at least once!

Chat soon lovelies .


 

Minty Fresh Plum Virgin Cocktail

{makes approximately two cups}

IMG_20160228_153326

INGREDIENTS

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups ripe plums (cleaned, peeled, seeded, and chopped)
  • 1/2 lime
  • sparkling water
  • ice (optional)
  • mint for garnish

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Bring the sugar and water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Stir gently.
  2. Reduce the heat and add the fruit.
  3. Simmer for 10 minutes or until the mixture turns syrupy. 
  4. Remove the pan from heat and let it stand for 20 minutes.
  5. Strain the syrup into a bowl and store in the refrigerator. Discard the cooked fruit or save it for later (to make a plum crumble)
  6. To serve:

           Pour the plum syrup  into a glass. Add ice (as much as you like). Squeeze lime over ice. Fill with sparkling water. And stir. Garnish with fresh mint leaves and enjoy!

Preferably you could add 1/2 cup of gin or tequila, which would be a great addition on a summer afternoon!

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

