20 Questions With Claire Allen

I’ve been all kinds of busy lately. Whilst I may not have been blogging much during the past couple of weeks, I do feel that I have a valid excuse though. I’ve been working on finishing off my degree and I also started working on a couple of side projects that are keeping me busy! I spend my mornings in lectures, my afternoons chasing deadlines and my evenings answering emails. The only rest I get is in my sleep or in the kitchen cooking the food of my childhood or a big pot of pasta sauce.

Talking about food – This weeks foodie feature is none other than Claire Allen. Ring a bell? If you’ve ever watched an episode of the hit show “MasterChef SA” then YES,  you may have seen her on your TV screen or you might know her as the other half of Short Chef Skinny Chef. She’s always had a passion for cooking and clearly for eating as well!

She took the time out to answer a few questions for us here at the Grubby Eater HQ. We got a chance to find out a bit more about her and especially on where she likes to grab a drink in the city!

  1. Tell us about yourself and about your philosophy as a chef.

I am a family girl at heart and truly believe that food does not only nourishes our bodies, it feeds our soul.

  1. Tell us about the food you cook at home. Do you tend to cook the food of your childhood or do you experiment a lot with different flavor combinations?

Last year I decided to entertain from home more so I tasked myself with starting a supper club. On these evenings I cook a themed meal for my girl friends and it’s really made me think out the box and have more fun in the kitchen!

  1. Which food bloggers / Instagrammers do you follow?

Crushing on Seth Shezi, I love his images and he has the most incredible energy.

Megan Kate Swan is also a total honey and someone I cant wait to spend more time with.

  1. Do you think that anyone can become a great cook?

Absolutely, cook from the heart and your dishes will be successful.

  1. What has been the biggest challenge, to date, that you came across after Masterchef SA?

Taking the leap from being on Masterchef to being an actually South African food contributor that is respected and taken seriously.

  1. Why is the cause of seafood sustainability so important to you?

I love seafood and quite simply I want to carry on enjoying it for years to come. We have a responsibility both ethically and morally to ensure we exercise our buying power to protect our oceans. If we don’t take action now we will see the effects both socially, economically as well environmentally. The changes we make today will have a lasting effect on the world we live in forever.

  1. What makes you happiest at the end of the day?

Curling up in bed watching the cooking channel, knowing I’ve planned my morning. I’m a bit OCD (I have “shower” on my to do list).

  1. What is your favorite food to eat?

Chips…I LOVE ME SOME POTATOES!

  1. What is the one guilty food pleasure that you absolutely can’t live without?

I love eating peanut butter out of the tub – I’ve had to limit myself to 2 – 3 times a week.

CA 2.jpg

  1. What is your drink of choice?

Wine… wine and whisky. 🙂

  1. Where do you grab your after work drink in Cape Town?

La Perla because it’s a two-minute walk from my house or Winchester Mansions for margaritas!

  1. What do you eat after a hard day’s work?

Hmmm, soup is my go-to meal, I’ll even have it for breakfast! So I’ve always got soup at home in the freezer but if it’s summer, a chicken salad is my go-to week night dinner, especially if I have had soup for breakfast. 🙂

  1. Girls night out or Netflix and chill?

Do I have to choose? I can do a girls night on a Friday and Netflix and chill on Saturday. But I am a couch potato so Netflix and chill would win.

  1. Theatre nights or movie nights?

Movie night for sure!

  1. What would your last meal on earth be?

Red wine beef stew with dumplings and lots of red wine to drink. 🙂

  1. Where do you normally go for lunch?

90% of the time I’m trying to find something I can eat at my desk; I am a real workaholic. But I love a good brunch over the weekends at any of Cape Town’s markets. My favorite thing to do is walk from home to Oranjezicht City Farm Market, work up an appetite and then eat everything!

  1. Highlight of your career so far?

It must be my demo at the Good Food and Wine Show’s Open Chefs Theatre. It wasn’t the largest audience I’ve appeared in front of but it was a great honor and totally on my bucket list to appear on the main stage, alongside all the international acts, a year after paying for my tickets to attend the same show!

  1. Is there another chef that you most admire? Who and why?

I’ve given this a lot of thought and in South Africa it would be Jenny Morris, over and above being one of the first South African celebrity chefs to pioneer cooking demos in so many ways. I love her warm laugh, obvious love for food and work ethic. And she never stops, which serves as a good reminder to keep working hard for the things I want to achieve.

  1. Best piece of advice ever given to you.

“You have a brain in your head, you have feet in your shoes, you can steer yourself any direction you choose” – Dr Seuss. We place the greatest limitations on ourselves.

  1. Where to from now. Any future plans?

I have some incredible projects in the pipe line so keep your eyes on my social media platforms for all the announcements.

7O3A5416.jpg

Until next time!

Besos, Lee
xx

Instagram: claireallen_sa

You Tube Channel: The Foodie In Love 

claireallen.co.za |

{Special thanks to Claire Allen and Exposed By Her PR}

 

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

