Soup and cuddles

Oh gosh. What a really bad title to a really good post. I’m single so definitely no cuddles for me tonight or any other night for that matter. But I supposed making soup serves as a comforting disposition for now.

Talking about soup. So the other day I had some leftover cauliflower in the freezer and I was contemplating on whether I should make cauliflower mash or cauliflower soup for dinner. Been feeling a bit groggy lately. Possibly due to the change in seasons, my allergies, my insomnia or perhaps a mixture of all three?

So turns out soup was the dish of the day. A lot of people are scared of CAULIFLOWER. I don’t know why. Still trying to figure that one out. I mean I was one of those people, till a cauliflower a size of a baby’s head ended up in my trolley one day. So I did a bit of research.

Cauliflower and caramelized onions go together. So does cauliflower and any form of homemade tahini dressing you can think of. Cauliflower and hummus. Better yet just roast the stuff with a bit of salt and pepper and have that for dinner with your Bolognese sauce instead of having pasta (merde I cannot believe I am telling you guys not to eat pasta, forgive me dear Italian friends).

Okay – back to the soup! The trick to making really bad-shit-crazy-yummy-in-your-mouth soup is to ALWAYS roast your vegetables. Always. It is almost like the oven extracts the delicious flavor out of the vegetables while you sit back on the couch.

And then to elevate the final taste of your soup you can add garlic, spices, fresh herbs, cream, coconut milk, ginger. There is so much you can add. Ooooh and bacon bits!

I am just so stoked that my creative juices are flowing again and that I am able to share some of the yummy eats I make at our apartment with you.

Smiles. Smiles. Smiles. and spoonfuls of cauliflower soup.

2017-03-14-18-28-21

Let me know if you would like for me to share a potato and leek soup that I make every winter. My mum is still asking me for the recipe to this day😂😂 😂!

2017-03-14-18-27-182017-03-14-18-27-362017-03-14-18-37-04

Roasted Cauliflower + Coconut Milk Soup 

(serves 4 . as a starter. vegan recipe)

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 medium head of cauliflower, cut into florets
olive oil
3 sprigs of spring onions, chop off the top green bits
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 cup water
165ml can coconut milk
salt and pepper to taste

METHOD:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Lay the cauliflower florets on a baking sheet. Drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil.

Grind some salt and black pepper over the vegetables. Add the cayenne and mix together.

Roast for 20-30 mins until their smell fills the kitchen and they start getting some color.

In a medium sized pot, heat about 2 tablespoons of the olive oil on medium heat.

Add the chopped spring onions and sauté for about 5 minutes stirring often, then add the garlic {p.s. make sure they don’t stick to the pot or burn}.

Next, add the roasted cauliflower to the pot. Mix well, and cook for another couple of minutes.

Now add the cup of water. You can adjust the water based on the consistency you want in the end.

Let the mixture come to a boil slightly and add the coconut milk.

Reduce heat to medium low. Stir to combine.

Simmer for 10-15 minutes, until the flavors meld together and you are happy with the way it tastes.

Grind some salt and pepper to taste. Taste again and adjust the seasoning if necessary. Just don’t go overboard.

Remove from heat and blend everything together until smooth. The soup should look silky and creamy.

Serve in bowls garnished with a drizzle of olive oil and chunks of french loaf on the side.

Note: I used a high powered blender right after the soup had cooled slightly. Blended on high for a minute and a half. You should trust your instincts and your taste buds when making soup. They won’t steer you wrong. Also I would advise, extending your roasting time to 30 -45 min if you are using frozen cauliflower florets.

I genuinely do hope you enjoy this one. Winter is bound to be shit cold this year! Plus it’s a little something something for vegans, vegetarians, meat eaters and 6 year old’s.

Until next time!

Lee. x

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

