Sunday scribbles…

I hate writing emotional posts but here goes . . .

It took a while for me to come to terms with the concept of slowing down and taking time out for myself. There is always a 101 things going on in my head and a to-do list every single morning. I remember things getting so bad that my body gave in. I got sicker and sicker. I got so bad that my GP even put me to go on bed rest for 2 weeks (funny enough I spent those two weeks in bed, of course, with my laptop laying beside me. All this lead up to me ending up in hospital months later…

This experience taught me a lot. That life is about taking each moment as it comes and it is surely not made up of just work work work.

So if you’re feeling tired and burned out, take heart.
Slow down, stop working for a while, and come back in a few hours.

I have learned that unwritten blog posts can wait. That my first and foremost priority is my health; something that we take granted every day.

As I sit up on my bed this morning, legs crossed x, laptop on my lap, Rooibos tea in hand. . I can’t help but think about how far I’ve come. Also I am feeling somewhat sad that this is the second year in a row that I’ve missed the Good Food and Wine show. Bleak! Spent the past hour going through the feeds and I happened to come across a video Chef Jan Hendrick posted. In the video, he was standing next to the great Marco Pierre and Marco was saying that “if you have a dream then you have the responsibility, to yourself, to make it come true”. Sigh, such wise words.

I seldom sit by myself and think about how crazy my dreams sound. But they are mine and they keep me going forward.

So hang in there…you’re doing great. We all need someone to say that to us every once in a while… Like, “Hey you! You are doing a really good job! Keep it up”. I mean even getting up in the morning to go to work, or to make breakfast, or getting the kids ready for school, gosh even grocery shopping is a minor achievement. So dear reader, YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB at this thing called life, even when you are too tired to see it.

So take heart. Take a moment to breathe, just breathe, especially when life gets hard and you feel overwhelmed. I’ve been there so I know how you feel.

P.S – drinking a glass or two of Pinot helps and so does eating all the cheese. Okay, maybe not all the cheese haha! I am lactose-intolerant after all.

kisses, x

Lee


Forgot to mention, my Burger & Lobster restaurant review will be going up tomorrow. So keep your eyes peeled for that one. Bye!

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

