Dining at Burger & Lobster

Turns out, that Burger & Lobster is one of those few places in Cape Town where you can have a memorable dining experience.

Due to the ridiculous incompetence of a certain IT company, I’ve been without a laptop for close to 6 weeks now. That means a heavy backlog of work left undone and countless hours of editing I have yet to do.
On the other side the month of April + May have been good to me and I’m just so excited to share the experience I had at Burger & Lobster restaurant with you. x

It was EPIC. yes i said epic! I’d say that it has been the BEST dining experience I have had this year and by far the most memorable.

Burger & Lobster, Cape Town. I like the name actually, it truly encompassed exactly what they have on the menu – burgers and lobster. Simple but clever! For about a year and a half now I have heard fellow foodies and industry folk raving about this place. It’s located on one of the coolest foodie streets in Cape Town (Bree str.) – they are perfectly situated for a much needed drink after work, girls’ night out and for date nights with bae.

The restaurant boasts simple yet elegant dishes which I’d swear even Guy Fieri would fall in love with. The menu is humble, concise and comprises of two things : their  reputable freshly-made steak burgers and fresh lobster.

This place reminds me of the vibey restaurants that you often find in the streets of Soho in New York city. The kind of place that serves up a mean ass Old Fashioned cocktail where I wouldn’t mind spending my Friday nights at !

2017-04-08-17-07-13
 Delicious dishes on the menu at B&L . Steak burger with fries and a side salad, Bacon & Lobster mac’n cheese and a junior LOBSTER ROLL

_

We got to try the best eats on their menu compliments of the restaurant  @burgerlobsterSA. I snagged a couple of pictures before it more or less ended up on my face and finally into my mouth.  It was all so delicious. I am not saying this to be nice and I am not being paid to write a great review. I would drag all my friends here if I had my parent’s credit card and would possibly stop by to pick-up dinner there every night. It’S THAT goood!

We didn’t have to wait long for our food and our waitress was always on hand when we needed a refill. I was a bit on the nervous side before we arrived in all honesty. Excited but nervous still. I mean if you are just going to have two things on your menu then there is ABSOLUTELY no room for (excuse my language) fuck ups . So there I was, walking in with my friend – Nathan – with growling tummies and high expectations!

The Drinks got me all kinds of excited though. I must tell ya! There is something on the menu for everyone – whiskey drinkers, girly girls, heavy drinkers and crafty something also for the guy who just wants a beer. Did I mention that they have a happy hour special for every single damn day of the week!

After a few cocktails in our systems, conversation with the staff and a bit of nibbles on classic bar snacks, I got a clear feel for the restaurant and I was ready to dive head first into the mains. I couldn’t decide on what to order and later decided on the cheesy bacon & lobster mac ‘n cheese. With the mac n cheese I got half a lobster roll on the side. YUM

2017-04-08-18-39-49
To my dining pleasure, Nathan doesn’t eat lobster or bacon so I had these all to myself. The buttery roll complements the tender juicy lobster so well. The squeeze of the lemon is quite essential for the entire dish to work together. And the light Japanese mayo is no joke. I could have used more of that mayo on my roll though. I couldn’t finish the pasta though. Had to leave some room for some dessert! I really did enjoyed my meal and I really want to go back! I actually want to pack up their Head Chef and lock her up in our kitchen.

Ooh, and the black truffle and Parmesan fries ? PERFECTION!  I must confess inhale carbs whenever the opportunity presents itself. These fries may have ultimately changed the way I look at potatoes! I am craving them as I am typing. How can that be? 
_

All the dishes comes with American style fries that puts Mac D’s fries to shame and a mixed green salad, that has been dressed in a delicious balsamic vinegar (I assume) dressing with croutons and red onions. I can’t stop dreaming about those Parmesan and Black Truffle fries which go perfectly well with sriracha sauce. They were pleasurable to eat and I swear I’d pick these over a boy any day! I suggest you order a big bowl of these – emphasis on NOT sharing the fries with your dining mate.

IMG_20170409_145804_872
mmm, my mouth is salivating!

Nathan on the other hand was happy with his order. He actually said it was one of the best gourmet burgers he has had in his life. He actually grew quieter and quieter as he took each bite. I am so happy he shared his fries with me. Otherwise a food brawl would have ensued. The one thing that took him off guard was the salad. He went nuts for it. FYI he rarely eats salad and he fell in love with the way it was dressed and the golden croutons that were mixed in.

The cheese sauce on the burger (which is a combo of 3 different cheeses) was DIVINE, as Nathan would say! The patty itself was unique. He couldn’t compare it to anything he has ever tasted before. The taste (which paired well with the steak patty) was pretty new to him, esp. because of the cheese on the patty. I FOR ONE LIKED IT!

IMG_5050
P.S – THEY ALSO SERVE FRESH WHOLE LOBSTERS =O

Before we had even digested our mains, we were presented with a plate full of the dessert they have on offer on their menu. I AM SECRETLY A DESSERT LOVER, OBSESSED WITH THE THINGS 🙂 ESP. CAKES.

The Oreo + Nutella cheesecake and the crushed Ferrero Rocher chocolate cake were some of the best we’ve ever had. The chocolate was lighter than expected, whilst the cheesecake was creamy and  richer and yet delectable but not overwhelming on the palate at all.

No words can express the moments we took a bite of each dessert. BLISS. Nathan professed his undying love for the Ferrero Rocher chocolate cake and then changed his mind that he loved the cheese cake more. I think he just couldn’t make his mind up on which he preferred better, which was hilarious to witness!

THE INTERIOR DECOR IS HIP AND STYLISH. I LOVED THE RUSTIC YET MODERN FEEL OF THE DESIGN AND THE LAYOUT OF THE BAR IS THE ONE WE ARE STEALING FOR OUR FUTURE PENTHOUSE.

It was so good to sit back and chat over spectacular food, cocktails and just create memories out of the occasion. And that is what B&L is all about. It’s a place where you can make memories and devour as much lobster as your stomach can handle. We both found the service to be one of the best we’d ever experienced.

There were a few empty seats when we got there and by the time we  heading home it was a full house. So it is advised that you make a reservation.

Word of advice: don’t rush your meal at B&L because before you know it, it will be all gone! You’ll want to linger to order more of their signature cocktails so do get there early and sit comfortably.

The Burger & Lobster crew is doing something that some fine dining restaurants in the Cape have failed to do. They have managed to elevate and celebrate the ingredients that they have on hand. From the burger patties they make themselves, to the warm brioche rolls, to the much loved whole lobsters…i honestly have to take my hat off for them.

The menu is set at approximately R350 for two people (that’s if you won’t be ordering the whole fresh lobster and this price is excluding alcohol). Each dish is executed to perfection. I was so content and overly impressed with each course that I wanted to stay there the entire night.

I am so happy to have gotten the opportunist to dine at B&L and I urge you all to definitely pay them a visit – order the Bacon & Maple Old Fashioned and eat everything on the menu if you can!!

Burger & Lobster is a dining territory like no other and I am proud to say that I have experienced it for myself.

sit, eat, and relax

Till next time dear reader!

the lobsters are waiting 🙂

x

Disclosure: we dined as guests of B&L, however all views are my own.


THANK YOU SO MUCH TO BURGER & LOBSTER FOR A TOTALLY UNEXPECTED EXPERIENCE AND TO NATHAN FOR COMING WITH! IF YOU HAVEN’T BEEN, TRY IT OUT, FOR DATE NIGHT, ANNIVERSARY OR BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION. BINGE A LITTLE. SPEND A LITTLE. YOU WON’T REGRET IT!! #burgerlobsterSA

Author: The Grubby Eater

just a basic girl who loves food..

Leave a Reply

